Instagram [@highschoolmusicalseries]

Six of the original High School Musical cast members will make an appearance on High School Musical: The Musical: The Series.

According to Disney+, Corbin Bleu (Chad), Monique Coleman (Taylor), Lucas Gabreel (Ryan), Bart Johnson (Coach Bolton), Alyson Reed (Ms Darbus) and Kaycee Stroh (Martha) are making a return to the franchise.

The show has taken its interconnected universe to a new level in the upcoming series.

The OG stars will appear in High School Musical 4: The Reunion, a movie that will be made only in the world of HSMTMTS.

The storyline will take place across the fourth season of the Disney+ programme.

Season four will focus on the making of the reunion movie, which will be filmed at East High.

The students will be playing extras in the film.

Joshua Bassett (Ricky), Dara Reneé (Kourtney) and Julia Lester (Ashlyn) will reprise their roles and return as series regulars.

As will Sofia Wylie (Gina), Kate Reinders (Miss Jenn), Frankie Rodriguez (Carlos) and Liamani Seguri (Emmy)

There will also be a number of new recurring guest stars, such as Matthew Sato, Kylie Cantrall, Vasthy Mompoint and Caitlin Reilly.

HSM veterans Vanessa Hudgens, Zac Efron, Ashley Tisdale and Olivia Rodrigo aren’t currently part of the expanded series universe.

Season four of High School Musical: The Musical: The Series will be released in February 2023.