Credit: Julian Burgeño

Alt-pop act The Aces are back and they’ve got some big news too — a new album and single.

Following their sophomore record Under My Influence, The Aces are releasing their third record, I’ve Loved You For So Long.

The collective’s new single, Always Get This, teases what we can expect from their new projects. In their new track, the quartet find solace in the studio through searing guitar chords and retro keys that make for a striking slice of polished pop-rock.

Sharing the personal message behind the song, lead vocalist Cristal Ramirez has said: “I was in the worst mental state of my life when we wrote Always Get This Way. Filled with anxiety and having panic attacks almost every night, it took everything in me to make the 45-minute drive to the studio that day.

“I was just there to make something. I was just there to feel better. Alisa, as she always has been, was a strong voice encouraging me to explore how I was feeling through a song. At first, I was hesitant and embarrassed, but pretty soon Always Get This Way was unraveling quickly through the speakers.”

The singer added: “This song is about shame, panic, and struggle. It’s about the fact that we hold no space for those struggling mentally in our society, and we just kind of wish they’d get over it and quit being an inconvenience. It was the song that felt like it granted us permission to make what would become our upcoming album. It’s one of the most vulnerable songs I’ve ever written.”

I’ve Loved You For So Long, the band’s third LP, is written and executive-produced by The Aces and American producer Keith Varon.

Check out the tracklist for I’ve Loved You For So Long below.

I’ve Loved You For So Long tracklist:

1. I’ve Loved You For So Long
2. Girls Make Me Wanna Die
3. Always Get This Way
4. Solo
5. Not The Same
6. Suburban Blues
7. Person
8. Miserable
9. Attention
10. Stop Feeling
11. Younger

I’ve Loved You For So Long will be out on 2 June via Red Bull Records.

Watch the official visualiser for Always Get This Way here.