Backseat is the first track on Charli’s brand new mixtape, Pop 2. 

The current reigning US and UK princesses of pop – Carly Rae Jepsen and Charli XCX – have finally granted our wishes by supplying us with a shimmering, pop-tastic PC inspired banger.

Backseat – the album’s first track – is a seductive, yet surprisingly romantic pop number in which the two question the love shared with their long-term partner.

Charli and Carly take turns with their verses, pre-chorus and choruses before teaming up for the last chorus and breakdown.

Listen below.

Pop 2 is now available on iTunes and streaming services.

The track listing is as follows:

  1. Backseat (feat. Carly Rae Jepsen)
  2. Out of My Head (feat. Tove Lo and Alma)
  3. Lucky
  4. Tears (feat. Caroline Polcheck)
  5. I Got It (feat. Brooke Candy, CupcakKe and Pabllo Vittar)
  6. Femmebot (feat. Dorian Electra and Mykki Blanco)
  7. Delicious (feat. Tommy Cash)
  8. Unlock It (feat. Kim Petras and Jay Park)
  9. Porsche (feat. MØ)
  10. Track 10

Pop 2 is Charli’s second mixtape this year, after the critically acclaimed Number 1 Angel, which supplied us with pop perfection such as 3AM (Pull Up), Babygirl and ILY2.

If you haven’t heard it, and you love pop music, then you’re a flop. Listen to it now. 

Related: A shirtless Cameron Dallas and wet Tom Daley star in Charli XCX’s Boys video.