Tuesday’s election marked a historic turn for the Palm Springs City Council, with all five representatives now comprising of LGBT people.

Christy Holstege, who identifies as bisexual, and Lisa Middleton, a transgender woman, both won a place on the council, making history for LGBT+ rights in US politics.

They join Geoff Kors, J.R. Roberts and Mayor Robert Moon, who all identify as gay men.

Speaking to Newsweek, Middleton said: “The current administration has done a remarkably successful job of energizing Democrats, progressives and other thoughtful people across the country to stand up in opposition to the regressive policies of Trump’s administration.”

Middleton’s win also marked another historic turn, becoming the first out trans woman in California to be elected to a non-judicial office.

Related: Andrea Jenkins becomes first openly trans black woman elected to public office in US.

“It makes me incredibly proud of my city. I was judged in this city by the content of my character, by the work that I’ve done in this community,” she said. “We’re going to have a progressive city council, one that is focused on the future, one that is a problem-solving city council.”

Holstege wrote on Facebook that she is “so honoured to be elected”, and is “especially honoured to share this victory with Lisa Middleton, whose historic election makes her the first elected transgender official to a non-judicial office in California.”

Middleton added: “For young people who are transgender all over the United States, they are going to have examples for what they can do. It says Palm Springs is going to judge you by the content of your character and by the work you’re able to accomplish.”

Tuesday’s election also saw seven other trans people voted into public office, including Danica Roem, Virginia House of Delegates; Gerri Cannon, Somersworth School Board; Andrea Jenkins and Phillippe Cunningham, Minneapolis City Council; Stephe Koontz, Doraville City Council; Tyler Titus, Erie School Board and Raven Matherne for Stamford’s Board of Representatives.

Related: Virginia’s first openly trans House member voted in over long-standing anti-LGBT republican.