RuPaul’s Drag Race has announced when the series will return to its standard 90-minute runtime (with ads).

In a tweet on Thursday (9 February), the official account revealed that season 15 will be bumped from 60 to 90 minutes “starting Friday March 10”.

The decision to slash the runtime, in order to make room for MTV’s new LGBTQ+ series The Friends of WeHo, has been met with fierce opposition from fans, who launched a petition for Drag Race “to return” to one-hour episodes.

As a result of MTV’s decision, the runway and judges’ deliberations have been significantly shortened, and “a lot of fun chaotic” interactions between the queens in the werkroom have been cut.

Not only that, RuPaul’s signature call-to-action – “Bring back my girls!” – is nowhere to be found.

In response, Salina Estitties tweeted that the cast “worked two hard and invested too much” for the edit to be slashed while Loosey LaDuca wrote: “These short runways are AC-TU-AL-LY killing me. All that time, money, and effort. Yeeeesh.”

More recently, Loni Love – who memorably competed on RuPaul’s Secret Celebrity Drag Race – also spoke out against the edit, offering her “apologies to the queens” of season 15.

On Twitter, the comedian wrote: “You spend time making these fabulous looks and deserve more then under two minutes to show them off…”

The 15th season of Drag Race features the largest cast in the franchise’s herstory with 16 contestants and the largest cash prize at $200,000.

The contestants are as follows: Amethyst, Anetra, Aura Mayari, Irene Dubois, Jax, Loosey LaDuca, Luxx Noir London, Malaysia Babydoll Foxx, Marcia Marcia Marcia, Mistress Isabelle Brooks, Princess Poppy, Robin Fierce, Salina Estitties, Sasha Colby, Spice and Sugar.

Guest stars include: Ariana Grande, Ali Wong, Amandla Stenberg, Harvey Guillén, Hayley Kiyoko, Julia Garner, Janelle Monáe, Maren Morris, Megan Stalter and Orville Peck.

RuPaul’s Drag Race Series 15 is available exclusively in the UK via the streamer of all things drag, WOW Presents Plus, with new episodes dropping weekly from 2am GMT on. Subscribe now via