Stars – including actors from Heartstopper – are set to honour young people, school staff and mentors making strides for LGBTQ+ inclusion at the Just Like Awards 2023.

Hosted by Char Bailey and Megan Crabb, the awards will recognise heroes in five categories: LGBT+ Inclusive Teacher of the Year, Ambassador of the Year, Corporate Volunteer of the Year, Mentor of the Year and Pride Group of the Year (sponsored by JP Morgan Chase & Co).

Laura Mackay, chief executive of Just Like Us, said in a statement: “The Just Like Us awards will celebrate those doing vital LGBT+ inclusion work to help make the future brighter for LGBT+ young people.

“Just Like Us would not be able to help LGBT+ young people thrive without the amazing ambassadors, mentors, pupils and schools that we work with.

“LGBT+ young people need positive representation and inclusion now more than ever, and our recent report, Positive Futures, found that supportive school environments led to significantly better outcomes for LGBT+ young people into adulthood.

“I am immensely proud of all of our nominees and winners, and we look forward to highlighting just how valuable their work is at our awards.”

The Just Like Us awards takes place 13 July. GAY TIMES is the official media partner.